wegmans is coming! wegmans is coming!


Wegmans, a regional grocer based in Rochester, is looking to expand in Virginia and Maryland.

wegmans

They will definitely be opening a store in Germantown, offering stiff competition to Giant and Safeway.

The outlet is planned for Seneca Meadows Corporate Center, which is off Father Hurley Blvd., down the street from the Milestone Shopping Center. This would be the approximate location. It’s closest competition is the dated Giant in Neelsville Village at Milestone.

According to Washington Business Journal, Wegmans is known for its gigantic stores, extensive selection of prepared food and mix of speciality, organic and traditional grocery items.

The Wegmans website states, “Today we have stores in New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Virginia and Maryland, with no plans at the moment to expand beyond those five states.” Apparently, this will be their first outlet in Montgomery County.

Other local Maryland store openings include Landover, Frederick, Columbia, and Crofton. Several are planned for Virginia. The date for opening is still very much up in the air.

According to the Gazette, Wegmans is considered one of the industry’s more innovative and customer friendly grocers.

There are some love letters posted on the Wegmans website. One reads, “My mom…moved to Germantown two years ago to be closer to me and my kids.  Mom and I were up bright and early to attend the grand opening of your Dulles store.  I’ll drive the 40 miles to Dulles if I must, but please consider building a store in Montgomery County, Maryland.”

There are similar loyal praises throughout the internet. I can’t read them all.

13 responses to “wegmans is coming! wegmans is coming!

  1. Yahooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

    It’s about time!!!!

  2. YAY!!!!!! I love Wegmans 🙂

  3. We are so pleased that there will be a Wegman’s nearby, since we live in Rockville and the stores in Virginia are too far for regular shopping. So pleased that Giant and Safeway will have some real competition. We love the Wegman stores and the quality of products and the helpful staff.

  4. I CAN’T WAIT. I loveee Wegman’s, my New York friends had me hooked while I stayed with them.

  5. Yeah! It’s about time. I love the prepared food at Wegman’s. I often go to the Dulles store, but it’s too far. A Germantown store will be my new home!

  6. They’ve put up a sign to “join wegmans” in the new shopping center

  7. This is a great store, great community participants, We are pleased they are coming to Germantown!

  8. In my experience, Wegmans will not only bring competition but jobs, tax revenue and a community conscience. I cannot wait to have our own Wegmans in Germantown.

  9. I cannot wait to show off the Wegman (anybody and everybody that comes to visit me) experience without having to drive all the way over to Virginia. The career opportunites, expanded sense of community and the overall Wegman exprience is a definite win, win, win for all of Germantown and Montgomery County, MD.

  10. What’s the latest word on Wegmans coming to Germantown, and has Giant issued any response, like they may close the Giant in Neelsville?

  11. Does anyone know a target opening date yet?

Leave a Reply

